Sandy Troudt, principal of Indian Springs Middle School, has been named a finalist for the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) Middle School Principal of the Year.

Earlier this year, Troudt was named the 'Outstanding Middle School Principal of the Year' for Region 11. TASSP recognizes outstanding principals and assistant principals from the twenty regional education service centers in the state. She will be recognized with all 2013 regional winners at the 2014 TASSP Conference in Austin next June.

School administrators are nominated and chosen by their peers within their regions. Nominations are based upon exemplary performance and outstanding leadership in secondary education.

At ISMS, Ms. Troudt’s essential focus is to develop an environment of collaborative leadership and continuous improvement among faculty members and student body. She, and the faculty and staff, embrace successful concepts and initiatives that assist in creating forward thinking and dynamic leaders across the campus.

“Her leadership has inspired me to challenge myself each day that I enter the building,” Brenda Riebkes, ISMS 7th grade English teacher, said. “Working for a leader that holds herself to such high standards makes me want to strive for goals that might have seemed beyond my scope. Her constant encouragement energizes everyone she comes in contact with whether they are a student, part of the faculty, or a community member.”

Riebkes recently won the Keller ISD IT’S (Innovative Teachers Inspiring Students) Award, an award designed to recognize teachers who use creative learning techniques in the classroom. She designed and implemented a program called "Techie Tutorials," which helps teachers and other students to learn various technologies, programs, and applications. The innovative after-school program empowers kids to be both the student and the teacher, depending on their area of expertise. Riebkes credited Troudt for ISMS’s access to Mac Books, PC carts, iPads, two computer labs and iTouches. 

Troudt holds a Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts from the University of Northern Colorado and earned a Principal Certification from the University of Texas at Arlington in 2006. She joined Keller ISD in 2002 and has been the principal of Indian Springs Middle School since 2010.

Finalists for the TASSP Middle School Principal of the Year award will interview with the Principal Image Committee on Saturday, Dec. 14 in Austin, and the committee will then select the administrator who will go on to represent Texas at the national level.

Texas Principal of the Year winners will be announced Monday, Dec. 16.

Story courtesy of Keller ISD